Home » Video Game Reviews » Diablo III: Ultimate Evil Collection

Diablo III: Ultimate Evil Collection

D3-Ultimate_Evil_Edition

Bonus! You now get to play Diablo on your shiny next-gen system!

I was going to wait until I had spent more time in the post-game content to come and post my thoughts about the Ultimate Evil Edition of Diablo 3. But, who am I kidding? I saw the whole story, maxed a character, and Destiny’s out. I don’t play games like Diablo by myself, and I anticipate Destiny owning my husband’s soul for the next month or so. I figured I should be smart and post my review while the game is still fresh in my mind instead of saying I’m going to go back and play it some more and never get around to it because there’s way too many great games coming out soon. Which is exactly what happened to my Super Mario 3D review.

I played through Diablo III when it first came out on the PC. I played my go-to class, a Wizard, because casters are all that and a bag of potato chips. I had a hard time deciding what to play this time around. The choices are: Demon Hunter, Barbarian, Wizard, Witch Doctor, Monk, and Crusader, the expansion baby. Hubby was playing a Crusader, and meat shields aren’t really my thing anyway. Steve-O was playing yet another Monk. They suggested I be a Witch Doctor. I remembered hearing they weren’t very good the first time around, but I figured, hey! I can be a caster with a pet, just like in my WoW days, and if I suck that bad, I’ll have two other characters to pick up my slack.

I’m happy to report that I really enjoyed being a Witch Doctor. You can have multiple pets out at a time and let them do a ton of the work for you. You can even find special WD equipment that gives you MORE pets to have out at the same time. Zombie dogs everywhere! There’s neat AoE spells with PIRANHAS and support spells (If you care about being a team player, anyway.) And their primary stat is intelligence, just like wizards, so I was right at home.

The one setback to being a Witch Doctor is that you have to go around looking like a complete buffoon all the time.

witchdoctor

Like, seriously, is that supposed to be authentic or something?

As I’m sure most of you know, Diablo III was originally only for PC. When they announced the expansion my Blizzard fanboy husband was just ecstatic. When they announced the Ultimate Evil Edition for consoles we were both ecstatic. I’ve only played a handful of games on the PC. To me, it isn’t the same as having a good old controller in my hand and lounging on my couch and playing on a big TV. I was excited to play Diablo III again, and on my shiny PS4 to boot! I had some reservations, though. I find a lot of the times PC to console reboots don’t always translate well. I was worried the button maps wouldn’t be done well and that the overall experience would feel cheapened by the console port.

Thankfully, I was wrong. Sure, there’s some layout differences that take some getting used to. The weirdest thing for me was the character inventory  and skills screen set-up. It looks something like this:

d3_ultimate_evil_2

As an added bonus, here’s the new Crusader class!

See the circle around the character’s image on the left? The inventory screen is basically the same thing, except every circle is a different piece of equipment or the inventory bag symbol. You have to use one of the analog sticks to circle around and find the piece of equipment you want to tinker around with. It’s a little strange and took me some getting used to. Especially comparing equipment stats and cycling through inventory. You really need to make sure you pay attention to the small commands at the bottom that show all of your available options. I’m not going to admit how long it took us to figure out how to change our Network Settings so we could play as LAN, Friends Only, or Public.

I have very few complaints about this game so far. Probably because I didn’t really pay attention to the story. Let’s be honest, these games are played for the grind and social aspects. And boy, is there a grind. There’s so much to do even after you cap your level, which the expansion raised by another 10. In fact, you get to level some more! Now, there are Paragon levels that you earn. Each level grants you points to spend on growing the stats you want. It’s awesome… and endless. Not something I can get into at this point in my life, but a great addition for those who love to grind for stats and loot.

D3_X1_4_Player_AD_02

There aren’t nearly enough enemies on this screen!

You also have to love chaos. The above image doesn’t do  nearly enough justice to the sheer volume of bodies that will be all over the place at any given time. You can get your enemy kill counter to over 100 enemies easily enough during a basic playthrough. We played on Master difficulty most of the time and were treated to vast amounts of carnage at any given point. It gets difficult to track where the heck your avatar is amidst the madness. Blizzard incorporated the option to press down on R3 to shine a fancy light pillar above your character. I either forgot to use it or still had trouble finding it because I was busy having an epileptic seizure from all the light flashes. Despite the madness, the game almost never slows down or hiccups. I was impressed. There’s also hardly any loading times. How smoothly this game runs is an art in and of itself.

I have to say, I think this game is one of the best couch co-op games ever. It’s so much fun to sit down for an evening and blast through dungeons with friends in your living room. If you aren’t as old school or resistant to change like me, you can grab a headset and play with friends online too. OR, you can do  both at the same time! It’s seriously a great time. I looked forward to our Diablo nights every long, painful work day. And perhaps we’ll go back to  it if Destiny starts to loose its appeal (which’ll happen quicker with me… I’m not as crazy about FPS games). As someone who came away from the original release and didn’t feel strongly one way or the other about this game, the UEE is an incredible step forward. It’s like, I don’t know, Blizzard actually listened to fan feedback and fixed their mistakes! Imagine that!

Leave a Reply

