Home » Video Game Reviews » Flower

Flower

flower-game-screenshot-1-b

 

Pretty. And… yeah, pretty.

 

Flower is another Playstation Network game developed by thatgamecompany on the wonderful compilation disc I am working my way through. Much of the praise I bestowed upon Journey can be repeated here. The art style, music, and gameplay is soothing and enjoyable. The two hours or so I spent with this game felt richer than many of my 10+ hour gaming experiences.

In Flower, you traverse different stages as a petal soaring in the wind. On each separate level you’ll collect petals along the way and become a force to be reckoned with. In the later stages, you’re granted some sort of super powers by mother nature and gain the ability to destroy evil human constructs! The evil human constructs can hurt you (damn electricity!) but like in Journey, the accrued damage is more conceptual than anything.

I must warn you that Flower integrates the six-axis motion controls. Instead of navigating the way you ride the wind with the analog stick, you have to tilt the controller left, right, forward and back. I’m a bit ashamed to admit it took me like, five minutes at the main menu to figure out how to start the game. Turns out you have to tilt the controller at the perfect angle; toddler crawling all over your nap or not! After the first level riding the wind became second nature, but I was somewhat annoyed at the game’s onset.

Flower obtains a subtle bond-with-nature vibe. I didn’t enjoy it as much as Journey, but I think that’s because Journey has that epic voyage feel to it and I was able to relate more to the cloak with legs than a bunch of flower petals. But it is still a good zen game and I liked the two hours I spent with it.

2 thoughts on “Flower

  1. article is quite interesting and hopefully true happiness rays began to warm the hearts of us all, when we can share it with sincerity. Greetings from Gede Prama 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

